Baja Awards

Since 2002 Polaris has supported SAE Baja teams with more than just CVT's, hubs, bearings, and other components. We have also provide technical help, full competition support and sponsorship. The latest in our effort to encourage and interest university level engineers in the recreational vehicle industry is the Design Award.

Every engineer at Polaris knows that great designs usually don't happen with the first prototype - it's tough to get it right the first time! But through hard work and a can-do attitude this prototype can be shaped into an industry leading technology, and we highly respect people who refuse to give up and maintain a positive attitude regardless of the challenges and setbacks.

The Polaris Design Award is given out to the team with the highest overall design score (including both Design Report and On-Site Design Judging) at each event. Each winning team will receive a custom plaque from SAE and \$1,000.

2021 Award Winners

1: Cornell University

2: Georgia Institute Of Technology

3: Rochester Institute Of Technology

2020 Award Winners

Arizona: Rochester Institute of Technology

Louisville: Rochester Institute of Technology

Illinois: Northeastern University

2019 Award Winners

Tennessee: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor California: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor Rochester: École de Technologie Supérieure

2018 Award Winners

Maryland: Rochester Institute of Technology
Kansas: Rochester Institute of Technology
Oregon: Rochester Institute of Technology

2017 Award Winners

California: Cornell University

Kansas: Rochester Institute of Technology Illinois: Rochester Institute of Technology

2016 Award Winners

Tennessee: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor California: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor University of Michigan - Ann Arbor University of Michigan - Ann Arbor

2015 Award Winners

Auburn: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor

Maryland: Cornell University
Oregon: Cornell University

2014 Award Winners

UTEP: ETS Kansas: FEI Illinois: RIT

2013 Award Winners

Tennessee: University of Louisville

Washington: University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Rochester: University of Maryland-Baltimore County

2012 Award Winners

Auburn: Oregon State University

Wisconsin: Cornell University

Oregon: ETS

2011 Award Winners

Birmingham: ETS

Kansas: Tennessee Tech

Illinois: RIT

2010 Award Winners

S Carolina: Centro Universitario Da FEI

W Washington: ETS

Rochester: Michigan Tech

2009 Award Winners

Alabama: RIT

Oregon: Oregon State University

Wisconsin: Cornell

2008 Award Winners

Tennesse: Queen's University

Illinois: Oregon State University

Montreal: Centro Universitario Da FEI

2007 Award Winners

West: LeTourneau University

East: Universite De Sherbrooke

Midwest: Oregon State University

2006 Award Winners

West: Western Washington University

East: Universite De Sherbrooke Midwest: Michigan Tech University

2005 Award Winners

West: Western Washington University
East: Georgia Institute of Technology
Midwest: North Carolina State University

2004 Award Winners

West: Portland State University
East: Universite de Sherbrooke

Midwest: Purdue University - West Lafayette

2003 Award Winners

West: Instituto Tecnologico de Merida

East: Vanderbilt University

Midwest: Illinois Institute of Technology

2002 Award Winners

West: University of Beirut, Lebanon

East: Lady Auburn Tigers

Midwest: University of St. Thomas